Developing a New Medium Strategy

The next step in my ever-evolving relationship with this platform.

Sarah Callen
3 min readSep 4, 2022

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I’m bad at Medium. This is a fact that I’ve come to accept.

Its social media-esque algorithm means that I’m never going to be great at this platform. I don’t have the energy to give this website the attention it requires in order to make a significant amount of money. It just is what it is.

I think I’ve finally accepted this fact. As a result, my reason for being on here needs to change.

Back in June, I decided that I was going to really try and work this site, making sure to publish, read, interact, and follow as much as I was able to. I went nuts during the month of July and made a whopping $40. While it wasn’t a lot, it was considerably more than the $10–15 I had been averaging before this.

The problem is that the amount of work I put in over those weeks wore me out. I just couldn’t do it anymore. I couldn’t churn out more stories, and I didn’t want to see this site ever again. So I went dark for a month just to recharge my completely depleted batteries.

I took that time to consider if I was going to come back to Medium at all. I knew that coming back would require me to have a purpose other than making money. While that extra bit of cash in my bank…

--

--

Sarah Callen

Every number has a name, every name has a story, every story is worthy of being shared.